Classroom, Virtual, On-Demand
& Online Real Estate Courses



Steps to Obtaining a Florida Real Estate Appraiser License

We offer two levels of Florida Appraisal licsensing courses. Below are the steps to attain each level.

Registered Trainee Appraiser

  •  Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and have a high school diploma or equivalent.
  •  Applicants must successfully complete 103 hours of board-approved real estate appraisal education. This is accomplished by completion of the following courses:
  1. 2016 - 2017 USPAP Course (15 Hours)
  2. Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours)
  3. Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours)
  4. Florida Appraisal Law (25 Hours)
  5. National Appraising for the Supervisor and Trainee (3 Hours)
  •  Submit a completed application, fingerprints and appropriate fee.
  •  Fingerprinting must be done electronically for Florida applicants through PearsonVue. Appointments may be made by calling 877-238-8232.
  •  Out-of-state applicants must obtain a fingerprint card from either Ed Klopfer Schools or the Department of Business & Professional Regulation. These cards must be completed by your local law enforcement agency and forwarded to:  Florida Division of Real Estate, c/o PearsonVue, PO Box 173679, Denver, CO 80217-0679.
  •  Visit and select "Apply for a License."
  •  No state examination is required.
  •  Trainees must work under the direct supervision of a Certified Residential or Certified General Appraiser.
  •  Successful completion of 45 hours of prescribed post-license education is required prior to the second license renewal.

Certified Residential Appraiser

  • Applicants must have at least a bachelor (4-year) degree.
  •  Applicants must be Trainee Appraisers that have completed at least 2500 hours of experience over not less than 24 calendar months.
  •  200 hours of prescribed pre-certification appraisal education is required.
  •  Submit a completed application, form RE -2060, electronic fingerprints and appropriate fee (see c. above). The application must be accompanied by completed work logs and verification of completion of required education. Upon request, applicants may have to provide copies of reports to support claimed experience.
  •  Upon approval of an application, applicants will receive a letter providing the information necessary to schedule an appointment for a state examination. You must pass the state exam with a score of at least 75%.

Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Florida Real Estate Appraisal Board:


Disclaimer: At the time of publication, this information had been researched for accuracy to the best of Ed Klopfer Schools of Real Estate's ability. All requirements are subject to change. Students are advised to contact Florida Real Estate Appraisal Board for more specific information or if you have completed education and experience outside of Florida.